Managing membership with OrgSync can be very simple.   By combining people into groups, you can customize their permission settings and effectively target communications. OrgSync allows you to create rosters and manage your stakeholders from a centralized location.   Groups enhances the way you currently view and manage people in your group’s portal.

Additional resources for managing people in OrgSync.

Inviting Members to Join Your Group Portal

Setting Up Join Options for Your Group

 Locating Join Requests for Your Group

Adding Group Portal Administrators

The first step to access the Groups feature is to select the “People” module within a portal. This is located in the left column of your group  portal.

 

If you take a look at the screenshot below, you’ll notice it reads “All People” in the top left. New portal members are automatically a part of “All People.” While you can set permissions for “All People” like you can for other Groups, you will not be able to remove people from this group. We recommend granting the most basic level of permissions to the “All People” group.

 

You can navigate among your different Groups by clicking on “All People” in the top left bar. This will show a list of all the groups within your portal. You can select an individual group to show all the people that are part of that group. If you’re having trouble locating a group, we’ve provided a search box for quick access. If you would like to create a new group, click the green “Create Group” button. This will prompt an additional text box for you to enter the name of the new Group. A nice feature of this list of groups is the number to the right of the group name, which denotes the number of people that are a part of the group.

 

Aside from providing a member list, selecting a specific group gives administrators several tools. The first is the ability to edit group settings. You’ll notice in the screenshot below that the group name and description have a small pencil on the left-hand side. Just like the rest of OrgSync, this indicates “edit-ability.”

Under that, you’ll notice two grey buttons. The first, “Send Message to Group,” gives you the power to target communication to all the people in that group. The second, “Add People to Group,” allows you to add additional people from within the portal to that specific group. Clicking this will prompt a pop-up that allows you to search for specific users by name.

 

Below this, you’ll see two checkboxes. The first checkbox is “Private Group.” This feature is comparable to “hiding” a committee in the old system. When checked, only administrators and current members of the group will be able to see who is part of the group. The next checkbox is “Officers Group.” This marks another change in the transition to Groups. Now, you can have multiple officer groups. Simply check the box and all members of that group will show up on your public OrgSync website and will be included in Officer messaging and exports.

On the very bottom of this page you can completely dissolve a group by clicking “Delete Group”.

With the new interface, you’ll find that navigating among people is much cleaner. If you can’t locate a user on the list, you can search for the user with the search box. By selecting the “Sort” button, you can sort users by first name, last name, and last login date.

To view a user’s profile, select the name in the scrollable list. This will trigger the user’s profile to show on the right side of the page. Here, you can enter the user’s title by clicking the pencil next to “Enter a Title.”  The rest of the user’s profile is separated into three tabs: “Profile,” “Permissions,” and “Memberships.”

 

On the default “Profile” tab, you can also view specific user information and their respective groups. To add the selected user to a new group, click the “Edit” button and choose the group. Once selected, the change will be instantly reflected by adding a check mark next to the group name.  If you would like to remove a user from a group, simply click on a group and the check mark will be removed.  Also important on the “Profile” tab are quick links to message the user and to view the user’s ePortfolio.

The next tab is “Permissions”, which retains the same functionality from the old system. Here, you can set user-specific module permissions. Lastly, is the revamped “Memberships” tab, which highlights the other organizations the user has joined. With the addition of organization logos, this page is much more visually appealing.

 

Another great feature of Groups is the ability to move and communicate with more than one person. To do this, select multiple people in the scrollable list by clicking the checkbox next to the their names, or by using the new keyboard shortcuts to shift click multiple people or control/command click on them. You’ll notice that on the right side of the interface, buttons appear that give you the ability to “Send a Message,” “Add to,” and “Remove.”

 

“Send a Message” allows you to direct communication to the selected users. “Add to” provides you the ability to mass move users into desired Groups. By clicking this option, it will trigger a pop-up list of all the portal’s existing groups. Here, you can add users into one or multiple groups. If you are currently viewing the members of a certain group, you will also have the option to “Remove from [group name].” This allows you to “move” the selected users from one group to one or multiple others.  Without checking this box, you are simply adding them to additional groups. The third button, “Remove,” allows you to remove the selected users from the group or from the portal entirely. While on the “All People” list, the option to remove users from a group won’t be accessible since it is not considered a group.

 

Permissions

As previously mentioned, the creation and editing of groups now takes place within the revamped “People” module. Administrators will still manage the module permissions for all groups by selecting “Settings” and clicking into the renamed “Permissions” tab (previously called “Account Groups”). The general premise of this section has not changed; all administrators retain the power to determine what modules each group can and cannot access. Now though, you will “Default for All People in this portal” under each module. To provide additional permissions to individual groups, select “Grant Additional Permissions to Specific Groups” and you will have the option to add additional permissions to any group(s).